Back
Next
Contents
Find
Print

Warnings and Alerts (Chat)

The following warning and alert messages may appear in your Chat monitor.

Alert: QuestionPoint Session Exited

Message | Description | Solution

Message

Your active chat sessions have ended. You have been logged out of Chat. To return to Chat, close the monitor window (with browser "X"), log in to QuestionPoint, and launch Chat.

Description

The Alert: QuestionPoint Session Exited message appears in your Chat monitor if you click the Exit link in the QuestionPoint window to log out of the QuestionPoint system while you are monitoring Chat. The Chat monitor is part of the QuestionPoint system and you cannot continue to monitor Chat if you exit the system.

If you click the Exit link in the QuestionPoint window while you are monitoring chat:

  • The Alert: QuestionPoint Session Exited message appears in the Chat monitor.
  • You are logged out of the Chat monitor but the monitor window remains open.
  • Your active chat sessions are ended by the system and removed from the My Active tab. Even if the transcript and buttons for an active session remain in the monitor, further actions on the session have no effect.
  • In question lists in QuestionPoint, the transcript for an active session has "Answered" status and is labeled "In Progress." Within two hours, the label is removed and you can access the transcript for followup. (For more information, see In Progress Chat Transcript in question lists.)
  • In the patron chat window for an active session, a message indicates that the session has ended. The transcript (up to the point when you clicked the Exit link) is sent to the patron's e-mail address.
  • New chat requests waiting for a librarian are not ended by the system in most cases. The system removes them from the New tab in your Chat monitor. However, they remain under the New tab of other librarians monitoring the patrons' queues.
  • In the patron chat window for a new request, there is no change in most cases. The patron continues to see the message indicating that he or she is being connected to a librarian.
Solution

To prevent this problem, log out of (exit) the QuestionPoint system after you log out of Chat. You can minimize the QuestionPoint window to keep it out of the way while you monitor Chat. After you log out of Chat, you can return to the QuestionPoint window and exit the system.

When this problem occurs:

  1. Close the Chat monitor window using the browser "X".
  2. If you want to continue monitoring Chat, log in to QuestionPoint and launch Chat. (All of your active sessions were ended by the system.)
  3. If you want to follow up ended sessions, wait two hours and then go to your answered questions in QuestionPoint.

For more information, see Description.


Connection Lost

Message | Description | Solution

Message Connection Lost
Description The Connection Lost dialog box appears and your Chat monitor goes out of focus if your computer stops communicating with the QuestionPoint server for more than 20 seconds. This could be caused by a temporary network delay or interruption.
Solution Your computer should recover automatically as long as the delay or interruption is less than one hour. Wait until the message disappears and the Chat monitor comes back into focus. Then continue your existing sessions.

Fatal Error

Message | Description | Solution

Message Fatal Error, and one of the following messages:
  • Failure to load the language strings
  • Failure to load the queues list
  • Failure to load scripts
Description A Fatal Error message appears in your Chat monitor if there was a problem loading information necessary for the Chat monitor to function properly.
Solution Click the Reload button.

Warning: Duplicate Logins Detected

Message | Description | Solution

Message

Your authorization has been used to launch another Chat monitor. Finish any active chat sessions and close this Chat monitor window (with browser "X").

Description

The Warning: Duplicate Logins Detected message appears in your Chat monitor if you or someone else launches another Chat monitor using your QuestionPoint authorization.

The message appears in these situations:

  • You forget that you already logged on to QuestionPoint and launched chat. You log on to QuestionPoint again and launch chat again. You could do this on a single computer using two browsers windows or on two computers using one browser on each. The warning message appears in the first monitor that you launched.
  • Or, someone else logs on to QuestionPoint and launches chat using your QuestionPoint authorization after you logged on and launched chat. The warning message appears in your Chat monitor (the first monitor that was launched).

Problems may occur when two monitors are launched using the same QuestionPoint authorization. For example, your session with a patron may end unexpectedly if you are chatting with a patron in the first monitor and someone logs out of the second monitor.

Solution

To prevent this problem:

  • Remember to log out of Chat when you finish your shift or you leave one computer to continue your shift on another one.
  • Be sure that you have your own QuestionPoint authorization. Do not share it with another librarian. Your library's QuestionPoint administrator can create an authorization at no cost for anyone who needs one (Administration > Institution > Accounts).

When this problem occurs:

  1. In the monitor in which the warning message appeared, finish your active sessions. (If another librarian has launched Chat using your authorization, you may see the librarian's active sessions in your monitor under the My Active tab. Do not finish the other librarian's sessions.)
  2. Close the Chat monitor window in which the warning message appeared using the browser "X."
  3. See if you have another Chat monitor open. If you do, continue your shift in that monitor or log out of Chat.
  4. Contact your library's QuestionPoint administrator if you think another librarian logged on to Chat using your authorization.

For more information, see Description.


Related topics



Comments? (Help us improve online help)